Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< I'm back and ready for action or maybe inaction >>

Well, I just got back from a long trip. It was a good time and I think I just may have learned somethings. For one I think I'm going to be celibate for some time. Or at least I'm going to try. Like Chris Rock says, "Men can stop chasing sex, but we can't run from it. We're not that fast."

Maybe it was hanging around the whole weekend with a person of the female persuasion whom I hold in high respect, or maybe it was that conversation with the Goat, or something else, but I really don't want to have meaningless sex. I had a one night stand once. I felt like shit the next day, a little bit of drunken sex is not worth making myself feel like a lowlife.

I've also come to realize that I've been watching alot of TV recently. Ever since my roomates have started downloading shows to the house network. It's interupted all the reading that I used to do. My one complaint against television used to be the commercials, without them to stop me it's tough not to watch. I'm going to quit that though and find something constructive to do with the time now that it's warm enough to go outside.

I was thinking today after I got off the phone to my mother. She told me that we have some relatives coming up for easter. I don't know whether to be sarcastic about their visiting or genuinely glad. It can be a total mixed bag with these people. Anyway, I wasn't even thinking about my relations, I was thinking about the chocolate bunnies that my brothers and I used to get on easter sunday. This always bothered me because we also went to church on sunday and I had never heard anything about a rabbit in anything the priest said. I always wondered about why there were little chocolate bunnies but no chocolate Jesus. As far as I was ever able to tell in my 16 year stint as a catholic, the church loves to put crucifixes in peoples hands and on their walls. Why not take that merchandizing to the next level in snack foods? Why not have a cross shaped candy bar? You could come up with a delicious nougat filling and call it the blood of christ? we could ditch these stupid rabbits and have chocolate crucifixes at easter. That just brings up a whole new host of problems though, because how are people going to respond to eating jesus. I mean they get the basic concept and all, they do it all the time but that's just some bread. What I'm talking about is where to start. When you have a chocolate bunny it's perfectly obvious to anyone that you start with the ears. My little brother started with the tail one time but we were quick to correct him. With the chocolate crucifix it's just not so clear. I mean, start with the head? And which of the holy wounds do you consume last? Or first for that matter? is it ok to break pieces off and put them in your mouth or should you bite directly on the cross?

I think the lack of answers to these important questions is what keeps the church from lending the image of the lord to the greater market of candy confection. And lets face it, they got their hands full with abortion issues and gay marriage. That's alot to be worrying about without throwing candy crucifixes into the mix. In case anybody is interested I did do some searching for chocolate crucifixes. This is what I found. http://onestopcandle.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?page=OSC/PROD/CM413 It's just a mold but look at the cool choco jesus it make. Sacreligiously delicious. Strong as Steel, Iron

<< 9:29 p.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali