Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< Now we step into an always uncertain future. >>

In our society today it is socially mandated by deeply ingrained cultural rules that those capable of doing so form bonding pairs. Their is even a socialized stigma against those who do not see fit to form such pairs. This is a problem for both sexes, but moreso for women.

Once it was the most horrible thing in the world for a woman not to be able to "find a man." Thogh it is now possible for women to eke out a living without a male provider, she would still viewed in our culture as somehow deficient.

My only solace in these observations, is that human beings are not alone in our formation of pairings, various other mammals have been known to evidence life long bonding. However with our higher brain function these perfect pairings become more dificult and fluxual.

So where then does love enter in? Is it a chemical response to a certain pheromone that is keyed to a range of individuals? Perhaps it is a random alignment of the predisposed tendencies and the learned behaviors of two people? Could it be the higher level melding of two conciousnesses to take comfort in each other and share a set of experiences? I wish I had a real answer.

Done with that for now, new line of thought.

I have always been adamantly against allowing nostalgia to become too powerful. I see it as dangerous to live in a state where you cherish the past in such a way that makes you long for it's return. Such longing while not directly unhealthy in itself is a double edged sword. The past cannot return. The days we had, we can never have again. And even if we could go back, why would we. We did those things and can experience them all we want in the lense of memory. And lets face it, without massive energy production and a flux capacitor, traveling back in time would not be possible. But, there is no need to live in the past and in this day and age it is quite impossible.

Some people say that histroy repeats itself, but I don't think that this is accurate. It would be more accurate to say that we see a reflection of the past in current situations. This is not repetition, but rather a process of recognizing similar situations so that we may deal with them better in the light shed by our past experience.

What we do have is the future. And in the future, anything is possible.


I guess my only fear of talking in code has always been the likelyhood of a great misunderstanding. I look back and realize that everything I've said here could very easily be misread, and then what has it accomplished. I will have failed to bridge the gap between my head and its intended audience. All in all though I do like the way that thought summed up and I really do believe it to be true.

<< 8:11 a.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali