Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< Looks, likes, and a letter >>

Ok, who likes this page? I mean not the writing that goes up whenever the hell I feel like it. I mean, who likes the layout? is the use of Dali too shallow? too overdone? I've been thinking about redoing the whole thing, but that would really take alot of work and I don't remember any of the little bit of HTML that I used to know. This would mean that any attempt to change the way my page is made up would have to be done by trial and error fucking with the page. As I am by my nature a man who is on the lazy side of the work line I prefer to avoid the mental strain that would result from me parsing through lines of code.

I suppose the other option is that I could go out and find a layout I like that someone else has made. This however doesn't appeal to my love of the original, rather than the same trite crap that is mass produced and used by everyone and your mother. Not that I'm trying to knock on anyone who uses other peoples designs for their site, it's just not for me.


I suppose I should address the reason why I haven't updated in so long. I should, but I won't. You can just chalk it up to my being lazy and having lots of stuff to do for the end of spring semester. The truth is much more interesting and involves a cute asian girl and some tequila rose. I'll just leave it at that.

I thought that today I might post the open letter that I wrote today. Maybe it was written with someone specific in mind and maybe it was just excrement spilling into the keyboard through my fingers.

An open letter from a guy who�s been there:

To Whom It May Concern:

What do you do when you fall for your best friend�s girl? It�s a hell of a problem, especially when you end up spending lots of time with her while he�s away. You�re trying hard to be honorable but every second that she�s sitting next to you watching �The Notebook,� you want to turn and kiss her even more. Your brain aches because it seems like the only ways out are the loss of your friend or a strict denial of everything your heart tells you is right.
First, it would be a good idea to come up with a list of things that you find attractive about the object of your affection. Now cross off any item on the list that involves her physical appearance in any way. Next, evaluate you list for things about her that are directly tied to the way she interacts with your best friend, since these are likely to change/disappear when/if she breaks up with him. If these steps remove practically every item then just try to forget about the whole thing, but if your list is still substantial then burn it (no need to leave evidence) and continue.
Next is the friend test. This isn�t about making friends with her, that�s probably already happened and led to this predicament. No, the friend test is getting the reactions of your trusted friends. Your trouble here is that you need to seek the advice of friends who are loyal to you and not to her or your best friend, since the last thing you want at this stage is them getting wind of this. The reasoning here is simple. Your friends know you and have probably met her, thus they will be able to offer some perspective that your rose tinted gaze might miss. Do yourself a favor and listen to them.
In the end it�s really your decision. I might offer some small bit of advice though. Try to restrain yourself from actively working to break them up, this tends to backfire badly. Also you don�t want your friend to see you trying to steal his girl. It�s best to just let things run their natural course and wait for the break-up to come. After it happens, you are obligated to ask for his permission to date his ex and likewise, as a man, he is obligated to say yes.

Iron
Relationship Counselor (Amateur Unlicensed)

<< 8:26 p.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali