Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< At long last...The Ducks >>

I realize that it's only been a few hours since my last update, but I thought that at least one person might be interested in the ducks.

One morning I woke up to a strange sound. Looking out my window I saw a pair of ducks quacking on the grass, one male and one female.
The ducks did nothing except move across the lawn and then back. First the male would follow the female and then the two would switch and go back. But when the female followed the male, she nipped at his tailfeathers in what appeared to be an attempt to make him go faster. The ducks reminded me of the last date I went on.
It was a dinner and movie date, or rather movie and then dinner since that's the order I always do it in. Watching a movie before dinner gives you a garunteed topic of conversation if small talk about the weather and price of gas runs out.
During dinner, flirtation went back and forth like ducks on the grass. Flirting with this girl was like a duck waddling for some reason, it was just awkward. Something was missing, that indefinable thing, maybe it was depth of conversation.
The one turn our converstion did take toward the deep end was when we talked about God. I should note at this point that God conversations are more like third date material, when you've gotten to know the person better. But she was intent to tell me what she thought so I responded. Which is to say that I told her about how god is everything so it is impossible to deny God without denying existence (something I'm still working on). She blathered on about how God loves us and thinks we're special (I held back from asking what made us so special since I'm pretty sure the answer had something to do with the creation of Adam) and then closed by telling me that I should give my life to Jesus.
I think we reached a happy medium though. Which is to say that I didn't tell her to shove it and she held back from telling me that I was going to burn in hell (though I'm sure if we had continued the conversation both of these would have come up).
I assume she held back from damnation of me because she thought I might fly off and leave her stuck in a shady mexican restaurant (maybe not so shady, it was Carlos o'kelly's) but I really have no way of knowing.
In retrospect it seems that we were just like the ducks, back and forth, getting nowhere and in the end I got a bill laid on my ass (monetary rather than a duck's).

Strong as Steel, Twisted with Hilarity
Iron

<< 12:06 p.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali