Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< Parenting in 15 minutes Flat. >>

I saw an internet ad today. It was about how 15 minutes a day of reading to your child can impact their life. This struck me as a great sentiment. Until I realized what it really was. It was another example of the trend that has become all to crippling to the American culture. The way of the future, is fast and easy. The 10 minute exercise, the microwave dinner, the TV advertised education. Now it had come to this new realm, parenting. In fifteen minutes you can substitute for all the other times you're not around, that's what is being taught.

What happened to real parents? The ones who took care of their kids? My mom read us The Hobbit when I was ten. Do you know how many hours that took? Especially since that repeating parts of it. Dad spent a whole summer teaching me and my brother to fish.

And you're telling me that all that it really would have taken them is 15 minutes? I don't think so. I think that I think you should damn well teach your kids all the time, not a schedualed period in a day if they want to be read to then do it not when you want to, when they want to that's the way to teach, when someone wants to learn.

This may just be my wrongheaded opinion or something. But yah know, 15 minutes is good too. I guess...

Strong as steel, still malleable

-Iron

<< 1:41 p.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali