Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< Protesting and shit >>

Peace protest today.

Here's how it went down.

12:05- Early arrivals start to arrive in front of Maucker Union. Police are already in position.

12:15- Demonstration begins.

12:25- Drumming and Chanting slows down. Person (name unknown to me) speaks on the injustice of the War in Iraq, rallies the crowd with the slogan �Not in our Name.�

12:30-12:40- Group marches from Maucker Union to the corner of Main St. and University Ave. to join the community demonstration which is already in progress

12:40- Community demonstration reaches high point with a speech by Chuck Quilty.

12:45- Student start to leave for classes at 12:50.

1:26- Final cheers for the Community demonstration. Students march back to the union for further protesting.

1:35- Protesters have thinned to a sparse group.

By 3:00 the whole shinndig was finished, no arrests, no violence. About what I would have expected of a protest in Cedar Falls, Iowa.

During the second demonstration at the union I got the chance to talk to some of the Anti-anti-war protestors. While I look distastefully on Reactionary behavior, I look even more unfavorably on Reaction to Reactionary behavior. Stupid perpetuating cycles.

However, I did get the chance to speak with some of the Anti-Saddam demonstrators. I got the feeling that I was one of only a few people who was actually listening to anyone. Everyone else seemed to just want to yell loud enough to get their point of view heard. There were points where it turned into a case of whoever is loudest is rightest.

I don't know what's wrong today. I think I'm just in a slump. I feel like I just want to fall down and cry. I don't get it, there's nothing wrong right now. Why do I feel this way? Maybe I just think to much.

Strong as steel, cold and brittle at the moment

Iron

<< 7:36 p.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali