Life in a Kalidescope

Persistence of time (section)

Dali
<< Hope and logic >>

Ok, so you're all right. E-mail petitions are an ineffective way to influence anything. But what can it hurt? You all keep asking "why? why? why?" I ask you, "Why not?" Why not just do it and hope. Have we all forgotten what it is to hope? To hope that something you do can make a difference. Fuck it, that's enough about hope from a cynical bastard like me.

I miss her. More and more with each passing day. Like a string attached to my concious reminding me beauty that is temporarily beyond reach.

Sigh.

On to my own dissertation on logic.

The topic today is logic. This is something that many americans seem to lack. But I do not believe that this failure of reason is necesarily any direct fault of their's. Rather, I place the blame squarely on the language that they use. It has been said time and time again that English is not so much a language as a collection of exceptions. It is a bastard language, cobbled together from germanic and latin bases. English is an illogical language. Think on it, in what other language are there such flagrant violations of established rules? Two words: "Bean" and "Been." Say them aloud (aloud or out loud?) by rules of pronunciation, they should both sound the same, but they don't do they? In the english language it is against the rules for a double negative to form a positive, this is not the case in other languages (German, Russian, etc.). But English IS the only language where a double positive forms a negative. And even as I say this, someone is shaking their head and saying "Yeah, Right." In every high school composition class, students are taught that they should never begin a sentence with a preposition. But, the majority of proffesional writers have been ignoring this rule for years. Double meanings and pronunciation aside, english is quite possibly the most un-uniform language ever evolved among men.

Strong as steel, yet malleable

-Iron

<< 4:12 p.m. >>





That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
That's it, I'm out. - 2007-06-27
The Generation Gap - 2007-06-18
My Conversation with a PETA Representative - 2007-06-14
Begining again...With Sandwiches - 2007-06-07


index + older + profile +

notes +

Bonnie + Poo + Bree + Claire +

HOST - DESIGN

Dream Caused by flight of a bumblebee around a pomegranete

Dali